h1

The Editing Process

October 1, 2014

I believe I may have written about this in the past, but here it is again, rolling around in my head.

I truly believe my writing could benefit from more editing. I’ve done tons of reading an research on how to edit, when to edit; the best editing strategies… but i just can’t bring myself to do it. I’m too impatient, or maybe too deluded. Maybe both.

I have read how you should put the finished work to the side for while, then come back to it with fresh eyes; that it will make the editing process that much easier. i tend to edit on the fly; as I go along. And then am under the impression that it’s perfect just the way it is. the problem with that is, I then fall under the role of ‘fool’. Isn’t that what they say? that a wise man questions everything and a fool questions nothing?

As I want to be a better, more positive person, I also want to be a better, more fulfilling author. I tend to avoid the puffy bits, because I don’t see their importance. I leave out a lot of details that might make the story more driven and real for the reader; simply because i get bored with it.

These are things that could be improved through the editing process.

so my question to you dear readers (and fellow writers), is this: how do I get past this fear of editing?

Am I the only one who suffers this phobia?

There has to be an easier way!

 

Until then, my friends; cheers!

2 comments

  1. The tried and true practice of comparing an posting to a fine wine is apt;y applied here… allow it time to age. I am not a writer and only have a basic education but I have found over the year that working on numerous postings and letting them sit on the desktop and then coming back to them is with out a doubt the best path to a well written posting. In your case for some reason it appears you are driven to accept whatever is on the computer screen as the finished product, why? When you find that answer your will no doubt find that you can let the posting mellow for a bit before posting it.


    • I apologize for the delay in response… Thank you so much for your insight! I think you’re right. It comes down to two things (I think)- either outright laziness or plain old fear of success/failure. Perhaps I worry that if I look too deep into it I might realize I don’t have as much talent as I thought! Cheers!



Leave a Reply

