h1

-justify-

May 21, 2016

because you don’t hear from me except for when I need something doesn’t mean what you think it means.

I grew up thinking I was a burden.
Never to be seen or heard.
Never complain.

It took me years to understand the difference between complaining and stating a fact.
“I’m hungry”, “I’m thirsty”, became presages
Of violence.

Memories of punishments for which the crime was unknown. Or nonexistent.

I learned it was only acceptable to talk to others if it was life or death.
The difference between extra government funds each month and nothing.

So if I only talk to you because I ‘need something’;
Or only once in a while to say ‘hi’;
Just remember:
I’m trying not to be a burden.

And I’m trying to fix that.

-freya-

Leave a Reply

